Our massive voter engagement and outreach program to turn out the vote was the largest ever in DFL history. For months we spent time engaging voters at the doors, in parades, festivals, town halls, and everything in between. We had more organizers on the ground, more offices around the state, and more conversations with people than we ever had. We built a ground game second-to-none because we believe that the way we win elections in Minnesota is through direct voter contact.

Highlights of just our final two-week effort include:

  • 43 Action Centers across the state 
  • More than 17,500 volunteers, including nearly 2,500 volunteers who showed up to volunteer on election day alone
  • And more than 2 million voters contacted through door knocks, phone calls and texts in the past two weeks, including more than 200,000 attempts on election day alone - an all time and historic record
  • All of this energy resulted in fantastic victories up and down the ballot and will likely result in Minnesota retaining its place as number 1 in voter turnout, with a midterm turnout we haven’t seen since 2002! Thanks to all of you, we accomplished the following with our victories on Tuesday evening 
  • The DFL continues to hold every statewide elected office after the election of Amy Klobuchar, Tina Smith, Tim Walz & Peggy Flanagan, Keith Ellison, Steve Simon and Julie Blaha 
  • With the election of Tina Smith, Minnesota becomes only the fourth state ever to have two women United States Senators representing them  
  • Tuesday’s election marked the first time in our history that we will have three successive terms of a DFLer in the Governor’s office  
  • Peggy Flanagan will become Minnesota’s highest ranking Native American women to serve in public office in our nation 
  • Every statewide DFL candidate received over 1 million votes – the first time this has happened 
  • Minnesota will send the first Somali-American refugee to Congress with the election of Ilhan Omar in CD 5   
  • Angie Craig was elected as Minnesota’s first openly gay member of Congress   
  • With the addition of Ilhan Omar & Angie Craig, Minnesota’s congressional delegation is now 50% women, all of them DFLers  •We needed 11 seats to win back the State House of Representatives – we won 17, flipping that legislative chamber and making Melissa Hortman the next Speaker of the Minnesota House 
  • We went from one East African member at the Legislature to two with the election of Mohamud Noor and Hodan Hassan, and we increased the number of Hmong members to five with the election of Jay Xiong, Kaohly Her, Samantha Vang, Fue Lee and Tou Xiong
  • In Hennepin County we elected two people of color, both women, to the County Board for the first time in the counties 164-year history
  • And Dave Hutch will become the first openly gay Sheriff in the midwest and the Sheriff of Hennepin County, the largest county in Minnesota. 

Even flushed with success, we know we cannot rest with this success. We need to turn this moment into a movement. When I ran for reelection two years ago, I said I had two goals: to elect a DFLer as Governor and to defeat Donald Trump in 2020. One down – one to go.